weekly writing update

sink or swim.

picture from summer 2009.

What I’m Reading & Watching

Finished reading Rat Queens and re-reading The Magicians. Started reading BlanketsCaught up on Orphan Black (“He looks like he was molested by elves!”). Went to work. Didn’t do much else.

What I’m Writing

Nothing!

*dramatic sigh*

Okay – that’s not entirely true – but it’s closer to the truth than I’d like. I had a bit of a mono fatigue episode that lasted through most of the week, rendering me pretty useless when it came to anything productive (i.e. writing). I kept trying to write – I got to page 12 of a necessary 35-40, but it was exhausting, and not very good. There’s no point in stressing out about it – stress only causes me more problems – but I was feeling pretty disappointed until I remembered what my yoga teacher always says, in regards to failure or success: “Let it be okay.” Words of wisdom.

I’m finally feeling a bit better and more importantly, inspired, so I’m ready to get back to writing. I basically need to finish writing my pilot this weekend soooo I hope this energy lasts a couple of days. At least I’m feeling excited about writing it again? Progress.

I also started outlining a couple of other ideas – one for a graphic novel, one for a sitcom – that I’m pretty stoked about. I was also reminded of an abandoned short story I was working on that I’d like to revisit eventually.

What Inspires Me Right Now

The new Jenny Lewis album drops on July 26, but some of the songs are already making the rounds (I’ve also heard the majority of songs played live already). I’ve had the title track on repeat for awhile – this album is definitely the [internal] soundtrack to the pilot I’m writing. I also really love the song she did for GIRLS, even though I don’t watch the show.

I’ve also been so inspired by sitting outside, absorbing sunshine and listening to people as they walk by. When I’m at home, there’s something calming – almost meditative – about staring at my pool, watching the water move around silently. I’m not a fan of the heat we get in LA but damn, do I love the summer.

What Else I’ve Been Up To

Sleeping, staring at the ceiling, researching budgets (this one is my favorite so far), and figuring out how to see three movies this weekend (Edge of Tomorrow, Maleficent, and The Fault in Our Starsand write an entire pilot. I should also do laundry, and I’ve been working on a post about summer reading that I’d like to get up sooner rather than later. Stay tuned!

Writing Quote Of The Week

From Cheryl Strayed’s Tiny Beautiful Things:

The best thing you can possibly do with your life is to tackle the motherfucking shit out of it.

Happy weekend, friends.

3 thoughts on “weekly writing update

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 26 other followers

